Healing In The Arts

The arts are such a beneficial thing to be engaged in. It’s more than just a pastime, or a hobby. It’s a passion – but it’s not a selfish occupation.

By drawing that which lies in the shadow of the self to the surface ( through reflection), then recognising that positive change can be made from what we’ve found (roses grow in yesterdays you know what) , us artists then reframe what we’ve found in a form that is often beautiful.

So rather than just regurgitating therapy of the self, art can be the result.

This is piano improvisation is an example of me just closing my eyes, visualising a beautiful place and playing as the scene replays in my mind. I find it to be extremely relaxing to listen to.

The resulting art or music has power to the help us all to transform as we recognise aspects of ourselves in the art. Once an unconscious self debilitating pattern has been recognised, that’s the first step to healing.

Art is a tangible thing. It makes the world a better place.

These are the sorts of thoughts that go through my mind.

I don’t generally talk about it much – unless I’m asked. Im not sure the soapbox is the most effective way to go. I have written about it a lot, though.

It suits me to be an artist and songwriter. I’m doing my best to give these thoughts form in the work I produce. Perhaps they might help in some small way.


Here’s this week’s

Painting

I’ve been asked to paint more of Mills beach. So here’s another view.

Work in progress pics:

Starting with quite detailed lines and the sky

I like to put the bluff in, in the distance first. The paint leads the way, in terms of how the tone can dictate the mood for the whole painting.

working on the beach boxes, L to R. All the whites and greys of the one 3rd from the RH kept me occupied for a while!

and here’s the final painting. The illusion of depth is enhanced by painting the sand with a vanishing point where the bluff meets the sea. I add some some shadows (burnt umber / ultramarine blue watered down with water and medium) to suggest foot prints and shadows. Then I put in a few specks of suggest shells and rocks to add interest.

Mills Beach, Mornington Vic acrylic on illustration board. 50 x 20cm

This will be around $495 in a matboard border and frame. (photo will be in next week’s blog).

Getting an angle (to include beach boxes and the water) on such a long beach can be tricky. I think I’ll paint a series that focuses on just 5 or 6 beach boxes at a time. That might be fun…


and here’s this week’s

Song and A Chat Podcast

Episode #186  Song For You

(Song starts at 3:38)

This is a love song. Just words and a simple tune. It can be a powerful combination.

Written in 2000, song #475 sums up the grateful feeling I’d found by deciding to commit to my girlfriend who became my wife. Lucky me.

It’s been an incredibly enjoyable process – our relationship – and rediscovering songs over these last 180 odd weeks. I let the song lead the way for each episode and endeavour to try and keep out of the way of the emerging story.

I like to walk in nature (on this episode, there’s a brief recording of me talking as I go out on twilight walk). I like to see detail. And conversely, the big picture, too. Just nothing in particular. I let the scene  just wash over me -and through me, somehow.

And that is the feeling that I try to take with me into the studio. I keep my mind as clear as possible and away I go, fingers on the keys, composing.

There’s a line in the song…cos you call me home with your warm warm heart and like a gentle wind you set me free.  That sums up the song, really.

I include an anecdote about one of the first time we ventured into the true outback of Victoria, Australia – and we sure found it…..read more /listen

( I enjoy doing the artwork for the podcast episodes. I used the photo of the flowers from last week’s blog post for the Pic above).


You need a certain sort of freedom to be a songwriter. And you need to feel supported. It sure helps, because it’s huge commitment, being on this creative path. All the ups and downs that it entails…ditto with a relationship – all of those things are crucial: Freedom, support, commitment.  It’s a healing sort of a path.

Perhaps that helps illustrate how writing song feels like I’m writing with something outside /within myself. The muse..


I’m still not 100% sure of what Falling Out The Back Of Mind is really about, but I’m pleased I followed my instinct – and the feeling – to see the composing process through. Again, it didn’t feel like just me doing the composing. It’s a fascinating process. This finished recording is very close to what I’d envisaged 9like the painting process, certain elements end up dictating the outcome -eg a moody dark guitar pad sound may provide the affect mood).. Here’s PP and The Patient Hum with a foot tapping 4 on the floor mid tempo moody rocker. from our last album:

It’s so much fun making the videos. Here’s a still from the video.That’s Neil Sims on the right (photo from the Sandringham Village Festival a few years ago).


Lots of small steps make up the videos – and the creative path in general: Small simple combinations of brush strokes and musical notes – and lots of nothing (negative space – rest) create the picture and the song – and……

…potentially, a contented life: steady progress, focussing on each step, with holidays along the way, remembering that love comes from within. If we are gentle with ourselves and with our interactions with others then I think the rest of the picture tends to come together in the end.


This song by Paul and I came to mind just now. It’s about pure love, which would be the guiding feeling.

Our voices were a bit tired by the time we sang this track. Oh well. It was fun recording and mixing the album in 2 recording sessions (that’s all the time we had)…and it was a nice to way to finish the album.

I must master this and put it on other streaming platforms. Its one of my favourite albums – the immediacy of the instruments playing together, the space. It was a joy to record with Paul Dredge and Earl (on drums). The whole album can be found on this link.


We recognise the beauty and the potential for positive growth through reflection, as we observe and listen as we go through our days.

There’s always the choice to keep these sorts of thoughts in mind so we can make the most of days here on earth.

That what I’m doing – constantly reminding myself to reset the thought processes into a positive mindset, which I’m then projecting forward into my week.

It’s a state of mind, and it’s a commitment to live it. We all have the potential and we all have the choice.

Whatever you’re up to this week, I hope you’re having fun.

Pete.

PS Here’s the lyrics to the song featured on this week’s Podcast episode:


Song for You   P. Pascoe. (song 475, 2000)

This may seem small to you. But it’s big to me

Like and old lighthouse on a stormy sea

*

Cos you call me home 

With your warm warm heart

How can I even begin to start

*

To let you know how you touch me?

Like a gentle wind you set me free.

*

And how I feel

When I know I’m reaching you

With my words and a simple tune.

*

This is my song for you – and it seems to me

I’ve written you too few,

just 2 or 3

*

Cos you call me friend 

And you hold me now